Skip links

Lead Pahang, UCYP’s Initiative for Development and Sustainability

Lead Pahang is organized by UCYP in collaboration with the Pahang State Government, Yayasan Pahang and Arkib Negara Malaysia Negeri Pahang. It was held at the Yayasan Pahang Complex Main Hall, Tanjung Lumpur on 16th January 2020.

The seminar has garnered an estimated amount of 400 participants that included the members of the legislative assembly of Pahang (EXCO), academicians, heads of federal and state departments, GLC and industry leaders and representatives. The program was officiated by  Yang Amat Berhormat Chief Minister of Pahang Dato’ Sri Haji Wan Rosdy Wan Ismail. Also present were UCYP Vice Chancellor, Professor Emeritus Dato’ Dr. Ahmad Bin Haji Zainuddin, CEO of Yayasan Pahang, Dato’ Mahmud bin Mohd Nawawi, the 14th Chief Minister of Pahang, Dato’ Sri Diraja Haji Adnan bin Haji Yaakob and other guests of honor.

The reasoning behind the Lead Pahang program is to promote and share knowledge as well as UCYP’s efforts in uplifting the value of knowledge and research. It functions as a platform for leaders especially in Pahang to share their thoughts about the vision, direction, goals, hopes and the planning that will be integrated in realizing and sustaining the transformation plans for Pahang economy.

In the program, YAB Chief Minister of Pahang Dato’ Sri Haji Wan Rosdy Wan Ismail highlighted his talk regarding the currents issues as well as the plannings regarding development, technologies and challenges.

YAB Chief Minister of Pahang Dato’ Sri Haji Wan Rosdy Wan Ismail in his speech also emphasized on ‘MAJU TERUS PAHANG’ that gives a better understanding regarding the vision, goals and the direction been envisioned for the betterment of the state of Pahang.

Then, a forum was held in order to expand the discussion on the gist of MAJU TERUS PAHANG. The panelists who were involved in the forum were YB Dato’ Sri Salehuddin bin Ishak, the Secretary of Pahang State Government, YBhg. Tan Sri Dato’ Sri Utama Arshad bin Ayub, the Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM) Pro-Chancellor, YBhg. Professor Tan Sri Dr. Ghauth Jasmon, the Chairman of The Board of Directors of Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM) and YH Dato’ Ahmad Saruji bin Haji Abdul Aziz as the moderator.

At the same time, YAB Chief Minister of Pahang Dato’ Sri Wan Rosdy Wan Ismail also launched the Tun Ghazali Shafie: Institute for Strategic Leadership that will be the center that gathers and moulds future leaders. With the establishment of the institute, UCYP is planning a leadership program that will be open to both the private and public sectors. The launch of the institute also highlighted the achievements of the late Tun Ghazali Shafie who has a prominent role in the establishment of Malaysia. An exhibition that highlighted Tun Ghazali’s life and achievements were displayed at the venue for the participants’ views.

According to  the Vice Chancellor of UCYP, Professor Emeritus Dato’ Dr. Ahmad Bin Haji Zainuddin, Tun Ghazali Shafie: Institute for Strategic Leadership was created as a platform to run leadership constructive programs, create strategic minds and expand the knowledge of critical and predictive analytical skills.

Aside from that, 17 leaders from different fields such as education, business, science and technology, technology engineering, art and culture, and development were awarded with the UCYP Honorary Fellow Award. This award was meant to commemorate and appreciate their talents and leadership. The recipients were, Tan Sri Dato’ Seri Utama Arshad Bin Ayub,  Ym Raja Tan Sri Dato’ Seri Aman Bin Raja Haji Ahmad, Tan Sri Abdul Wahid Bin Omar, Tan Sri Dato’ Academician Ir. (Dr.) Ts. Ahmad Zaidee Bin Laidin, Profesor Emeritus Tan Sri Dr. Zakri Bin Abdul Hamid, Tan Sri Dato’ Sri Aziz Bin Abdul Rahman, Tan Sri Mohd Sidek Bin Hassan, Tan Sri Norliza Binti Rofli, Profesor, Profesor Tan Sri Dr. Ghauth Jasmon, Profesor Ulung Datuk Dr. Osman Bin Bakar, Dato’ Sri Dr. Sallehuddin Bin Ishak,  Dato’ Dr. Abd Halim Bin Mohd Hussin, Profesor Dato’ Sri Dr. Abu Hassan Asaari Bin Abdullah, Profesor Datuk Dr. Muhaya Binti Mohamad, Dato’ Abdul Rashid Bin Musa, Dr. Rofina Yasmin Binti Othman, Mr. John Seow Yong Chua. The honorary fellows will also play their roles to produce outstanding leaders as well as to promote the sustainability of the institute.

Lead Pahang is expected to be a series of programs that will be conducted in the future. Furthermore, this program is also expected to be a catalyst for the development of ideas, progress and the augmentation of the state of Pahang that will then lead to scientific researches for the better of the country.

YAB Chief Minister of Pahang Dato’ Sri Wan Rosdy Wan Ismail giving his lecture.

The panelists discussing and exchanging thoughts and ideas.

Recipients of the UCYP Honorary Fellow Award

The launching of the Tun Ghazali Shafie Institute for Strategic Leadership.

Return to top of page